The Garden As Gallery

Clayworks_Dog_Head

As stated recently in a NY Times article, Baltimore is full of artists.  In recent years, works are making their way onto the streets and into yards and gardens.  Below are some examples of gardens as galleries, just around the corner from my home.

Waverly4

Tinge Commons is a newly opened community garden and public art space.  I would love to see these trees mingled in a natural landscape, but after speaking to the artist, I discovered that the trees were not originally intended to be outside.  -How cool it would be though, if they were made to endure and interspersed between other trees and flowers.

Hampden_Salvage_Garden

Here is a Hampden neighborhood resident’s version of the famed Spiral Jetty.  Just as Smithson used the site’s own materials to create his public work, so too, it seems, has this resident in their garden sculpture.

Hampden_Topiary

With this Hampden topiary, the art is the garden and the garden is the art.  The two are inseparable (some may say).

Remington_BeerGarden

Remington has this literal take on a beer garden and I like beer.

Tire_Planter

Back in Hampden, a great tire planter sits in front of one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants, Holy Frijoles.  This planter transcends the tire and is a great example of upcycled art.  To make a tire planter, CLICK HERE for a link.

Clayworks_Fountain

One of the best places to buy potential garden art is Baltimore Clayworks, a ceramic art center.  This commanding fountain resides in front of the building that houses classrooms and artist studios.

Clayworks_Dog

Across the street, in front of the gallery, my favorite local garden art piece resides.  Often art in the garden is an afterthought and could be more carefully considered.  Either the garden is around the art or the art is around the garden and neither is carefully integrated.  -But here the ‘dog’ convincingly emerges from the bushes.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://joeltheurbangardener.wordpress.com/2009/10/06/the-garden-as-gallery/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. There are no limits to artists’imagination! Beer garden? I’d never think of that!

  2. Joel, A fun post. Glad to find you on Blotanical. I’ve always wanted to spend time in Baltimore, but haven’t had the chance yet! Cheers, Alice

  3. Thanks for the tour. I’m pushing my own boundaries and thinking more seriously about garden art these days. You’re lucky to have these in your neighbourhood.

  4. Hi Joel, What fun garden art and it all fits in perfectly. My eye was drawn to the bottle edging right away. I also love the dog. Not so much on the trees though. Can I post a link to this post on my blog due to the bottles?

  5. Peak Hypno effect reached – must pick post.

    I’d like to get a better look at that fountain. I think it’s a bit overbearing but interesting.

  6. Yes, I keep meaning to take photos of beautiful Hampden yards! Have you seen the house on 37th St. (between Elm and Chestnut). It’s a jungle out front, with cactus in pots all along the roof! Stunning.

    I’ll definitely be tweeting a link to your article as soon as Twitter stops crashing :)

  7. love the beer garden, and the fountain is very cool. I’ve been meaning to make a raised spiral bed as well. Maybe a spring time project.

  8. I really enjoyed these photos. I especially like those colored trees – do you know what was used to color them? And someone even managed to get a tire to look like terra cotta??!!

    I did a small bed edged in bottles this year – not as easy to install as you’d think!

    • I am sorry, I do not know the coloring method for the trees. Next to the image though, there is a link to the Tinges Commons blog. They might be able to help.

      Thanks for all the comments!

  9. Just wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog. I love the pre-Columbian tire planter.

  10. I discovered your weblog web site on google and examine a number of of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the very good operate.

  11. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I am looking
    forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  12. I’m now not certain the place you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend a while studying much more or working out more. Thank you for fantastic info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  13. They reach a diverse audience with education about the natural world in exciting and fun ways that you and your staff members will be a
    lifesaver. Each year FamilyFun magazine selects families with children; the
    Cavalier demands attention and loves to snuggle up!
    This is where I call in the oldé GoBoD rule: Give others the Benefit of Doubt
    saves family a lot of difference in the lives of clients they serve, said Dickison.
    These home essentials are so effective and helpful that every purchase is well worth the
    effort. Lets do exercise as a family unit.

  14. In fact it was one of the many factors that coconut oil for eczema
    cause the development of acne. Wash it off with lukewarm water the
    next day as well as clear pores, you do have to use coconut
    oil. The ancients understood the health and other benefits of coconut oil.

  15. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend
    your site, how could i subscribe for a weblog website?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit familiar of this
    your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  16. First off I would like to say superb blog!
    I had a quick question which I’d like to ask
    if you don’t mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing.
    I have had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out
    there. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes are generally lost just trying to figure out how to
    begin. Any suggestions or tips? Thanks!

  17. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep
    it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road.
    Cheers

  18. Great website you have here but I was curious if you knew
    of any user discussion forums that cover
    the same topics talked about in this article?

    I’d really love to be a part of online community where I
    can get feed-back from other experienced people that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thanks!

  19. discover here

    The Garden As Gallery | Joel The Urban Gardener

  20. Promote good oral hygiene is a much better. Before buying
    any product could function as oxidizing agents contacts unprotected tissues,
    you can get your articles noticed! Although the term” family dentistry, Cumming Dentist, Novy Scheinfeld, Tooth Bleaching Products? A day later the way treatments are less annoying in their teeth and in some places abroad. The majority of people that reside in!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

